Reviews For A Spirit Bird of Hope
You must login (register) to review.
Reviewer: Melwyn Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 08 Aug 2008 05:56 am Title: Chapter 1

Awesome fiction. I absolutely loved it, and I think you had the characters down. One of the most convincing JD relationships I've seen. Love the way they interact.

Reviewer: Lady D Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 04 Aug 2008 08:28 pm Title: Chapter 1

Ooh forgot to add...and Mackensie, you actually got me thinkng maybe he had been misjudged that the man actually did have a heart. -ld-

ld

Reviewer: Lady D Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 04 Aug 2008 08:18 pm Title: Chapter 1

Ahhhh! I've been patient and diligent and I finally made it through this and what an adventure! I experienced Daniel's sorrow and feelings of abandonment, his near loss of desire to live, his addiction and the sickness that followed, his helplessness, his faith renewed through Sansha and Yasur and thier quiet rebellion (Babs, what a stroke of genious to use sewing as a tool of rebellion) then there was Daniel's recovery hittin,g bottom and working his way back out of it by shear will-power and the support of his friends. And Jack's patience, and the snark moment when Jack figured a way to get him to go back through the gate. And Daniel figured out that Jack had played him. That part was a riot. These thoughts may seem scattered and it's probably because I had to read it in small portions at a time. So I gotta tell you that you absolutely grabbed my heart and had me blubbering and nose filling with snot when Daniel was tactily (word?) describing the uncomplete cloth and what it meant and that it was incomplete because the creator died in the slave rebellion, Sansha's dead and I was a mess of tears when I read that part and I ourned right along with Daniel in the Briefing Room, except thank goodness *I* had Kleenex's nearby.

I just saw you eating MREs at the AOHP Con today, so it seems fitting that I completed your story that same night.

This was a wonderful story and absolutely fabulous writing. Thank-you so much for letting this PB take flight and inspire you so delightfully. Thanks for sharing, Babs. -LD-

Reviewer: carlyn Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 16 Jul 2008 07:59 am Title: Chapter 1

Nobody loves a fragile Daniel fic more than I do and this one delivers in spades. The angst is downright palpable and Daniel's pain almost too much to bear at times. Yet in the end, as always, Daniel prevails, his stalwart Jack ever at his side *sigh*.

I appreciate your little touches, too, Babs. I like that you brought back Dr. McKenzie and made him a sympathetic character. I love those little glimpses of caring by Daniel's friends: Teal'c's revenge against the Marines; Hammond's unwavering faith, Ferretti's supportive hand on Daniel's shoulder as he prepares to go through the gate again - very nice.

The ending was bittersweet but ultimately satisfying.

Thank you for a wonderful read.

Carlyn

Reviewer: rude02 Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 13 Jul 2008 08:59 pm Title: Chapter 1

This ending rocks!
Favorite Quotes:

-And even though Jack hoped it wouldn't be true, he also knew that if it was, it wouldn't matter. He loved Daniel and he was sure Daniel loved him. In sickness and in health, for better for worse--they'd never said the words in front of a minister, or even a civil official, but Jack lived them every day and would continue until the day he died. -

- "Having fun?" Jack yelled over the gunfire. "Time of my life," Daniel yelled back, his heart pumping, and feeling strangely like laughing. "Time of my..."

And his words were swallowed up by the Stargate as Jack yanked his arm and pulled them both through to home.-

k000dv8@yahoo.com

Reviewer: Sue Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 09 Jul 2008 03:17 pm Title: Chapter 1

A tough read in parts but even when Daniel was at rock bottom there was a glimmer of hope. This is where fanfic triumphs over tv by showing that injury and abuse is not all forgotten a week later. Thanks for the great read.

Sue (Lunar)

Author's Response: I wanted to never take the hope away which was a fine line to tread because I see Daniel as having that hope no matter the circumstances (even though he might go very very low). And yes, I wanted the recovery to take time because as you said, injuries and abuse don't go away overnight!

Reviewer: Sara Signed [Report This]
Date: 09 Jul 2008 01:24 am Title: Chapter 1

Well, I finished it! And I was right! Babs, that was a stunning, beautiful, heart wrenching, tear jerking, rollercoaster of a story. I am, as ever, awed by your writing talent. Very well done! x

Author's Response: Thank you! I'm so happy you enjoyed the ride.

Reviewer: Michelle Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Jul 2008 09:19 pm Title: Chapter 1

Oh wow, babs. You really outdid yourself this time. It must have been so hard for you to go to such a dark place with Daniel, but you did it wonderfully and made his recovery perfectly believable. Brava!

Author's Response: It was hard to do a darker fic which is one of the reasons I think it took me so long to write it. Thank you for the comments.

Reviewer: Renenet Anonymous [Report This]
Date: 08 Jul 2008 05:35 pm Title: Chapter 1

Brilliant, excellent story! It's been a real treat to read a story that's in a way as much of a teamfic and J/D fic as it is Daniel-focused. And Daniel is finely balanced between giving up and holding on; while I knew he was strong enough to emerge from it all as a winner, there were times when I was not so certain of it. And you even, sort of, got me to like MacKenzie *grumble*. Great idea and everyone's in character (yes, even Jack getting "married" *g*)... um, have I said I love the story? :)
Thank you SO much for writing this wonderful fic!

Author's Response: Oh I'm so glad you got the team feel! I really wanted this to be a team fic in addition to being slash because I think Daniel (and Jack) would need all the help they could get.Yay--you enjoyed Mackenzie! My job is done :) rnThank you for the kind words.

Reviewer: Sara Signed [Report This]
Date: 08 Jul 2008 07:14 am Title: Chapter 1

I am only half way through this story at the moment, but I have to say BRAVO, Babs! This is yet another testament to the fact that you're one of the GREATEST fan fiction authors out there! x

Author's Response: I'm glad you're liking it so far. I hope the rest lives up to your expectations. Thank you for the compliment.

Reviewer: Eilidh17 Signed [Report This]
Date: 07 Jul 2008 08:59 pm Title: Chapter 1

Babs, the effort you have put into this is just mind boggling. I love that you haven't left him at the psychological mercy of others. He still has that wonderful Daniel strength to draw on. Absolutely amazing! - C

Author's Response: Thank you. I felt many times as though I was walking a fine line between Daniel losing it and being the strong person we know and love.

You must login (register) to review.